Juni Taisen (EP 5)- Have I told you I’m bored?

Bored. I’m so bored. Twenty minutes of nothing. Nothing happened in this episode. So bored.

We start the episode of with the host of the Juni Taisen, we finally find out the purpose behind these battle royales. Battle for world dominance, each of the twelve warriors represents a different region and world leaders (I think) bet on who will come out victorious. Actually in all honestly I have no idea what I’m talking about or what I just watched. I’m not even going to bother to make sense of it, I’m not going to sit through that episode one more time. I was bored enough the first time round, can’t imagine how fun the second round will be.

Anyways this episode is on Sheep, we get a flashback with a flashback of Sheep’s past. We learn that in his prime he was a weapon merchant that worked part time as a mercenary. Because of how good he was at his part time job, he married into the Sheep family, given his horns I thought he was the son of the sheep family and not the son in law. He was the winner of the ninth juni taisen and decided to participate in the current one in place of his grandson. I was quite moved by this but the episode was still boring. Asides from Sheep’s backstory we get a lot of talk and not enough action. No one has died in these last two episodes, please pick up the killing spree, I getting bored out of my mind watching. I’m not here for the heart to hearts, I’m here for the deaths, the action.

You can talk but move at the same time. Why is everyone so fond of talking all of a sudden? There is no such thing as awkward silences in anime, there is no need for dialogue every other second. Meaning there was a lot of unnecessary dialogue. For example, during the Monkey vs. Rabbit fight and the birds burst out from underground, I don’t need Monkey to tell me Rabbit was stalling for time, I can see what he’s doing and why he’s doing it.

I don’t know man, this episode and the previous one are honestly a complete bore fest. But at this point I’m still curious to see who will be left to swim in this blood bath. If the story continues to craw like it currently is, I don’t how long I’ll stick around for. I’m being far too patient with this.